What is the 5 Pillars of Islam ? They should not be ignored

Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam

There are some basics about Islam that no Muslim should be ignorant of, the most important of which are the Five Pillars of Islam mentioned by the Prophet, peace be upon him, in the hadith, And it is, as its name shows, the most important basic things that every Muslim must do and know as well.
Therefore, in Quran Planet we make sure to start our lessons by teaching them to students.
Which is in short :

  1. The 1st Pillars of Islam – Shahada 

The Shahada, those simple words that a person utters as the first thing that declares his affiliation to Islam, is the basic expression of Islamic beliefs. It is simply “there is no god but God and that Muhammad is his prophet.” He must believe in it before he utters it, as it highlights the monotheistic nature of Islam, and it is the title of Islam and the summary of the belief

  1. The 2nd Pillars of Islam –Daily Prayers

Prayer in particular, the faith of a Muslim cannot be complete without it. Rather, it is a condition of entering Paradise, and there is no excuse for not praying. Therefore, it is the most important Pillars of Islam, as it is a relationship between man and his Lord and a sacred meeting five times every day. If you pray well, then everything in your life as a Muslim will be good. Prayer every day is a reason for the forgiveness of all your sins, as in the hadith:

Allah’s Messenger as saying, “Tell me, if there were a river at the door of one of you in which he washed five times daily, would any of his filthiness remain?” When he received the reply that none of it would remain, he said, “That is like the five times of prayer by which God obliterates sins.”

(Bukhari and Muslim.)

Download Lets Pray Book

  1. The 3rd Pillars of Islam –Alms-Giving “Zakat”

The third pillar is charity. It is a sign of solidarity in the Muslim community. It is obligatory for the rich and given to the poor. The Qur’an has specified those who are entitled to zakat

{ ۞ إِنَّمَا الصَّدَقَاتُ لِلْفُقَرَاءِ وَالْمَسَاكِينِ وَالْعَامِلِينَ عَلَيْهَا وَالْمُؤَلَّفَةِ قُلُوبُهُمْ وَفِي الرِّقَابِ وَالْغَارِمِينَ وَفِي سَبِيلِ اللَّهِ وَابْنِ السَّبِيلِ ۖ فَرِيضَةً مِّنَ اللَّهِ ۗ وَاللَّهُ عَلِيمٌ حَكِيمٌ }
Zakah expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect [zakah] and for bringing hearts together [for Islam] and for freeing captives [or slaves] and for those in debt and for the cause of Allah and for the [stranded] traveler – an obligation [imposed] by Allah. And Allah is Knowing and Wise.
[ Surat At-Tawbah : 60 ] ( English – Sahih International )

Muslims believe that they should give part of their wealth to those less fortunate in the community of believers.

  1. The 4th Pillars of Islam –Fasting during Ramadan”Saum”

During the holy month of Ramadan, the ninth month in the Islamic calendar, Muslims fast from dawn until sunset. It is obligatory for every adult Muslim who is able to fast, and there are exceptions for the sick, the elderly, and pregnant women, and it is a blessed month in which Muslims race to do good deeds, It is the month in which the revelation of the Qur’an to the Prophet Muhammad began.

  1. The 5th Pillars of Islam- Pilgrimage to Mecca “Hajj”

Hajj is the sacred journey to Mecca and all able Muslims are required to perform Hajj to Mecca and the surrounding holy places at least once in their lifetime. Muslims from all over the world gather at the same time every year in the month of Dhu al-Hijjah, which is the last month in the Islamic calendar.
Muslims wear white and unstitched clothes for Hajj, and Hajj shows the unity of Muslims and their equality, so there is no difference between their colors, shapes, and languages, they are all one.

Conclusion :

This noble hadith brought them all together
Ibn ‘Umar reported God’s messenger as saying, “Islam is based on five things:
the testimony that there is no god but God and that Muhammad is His servant and messenger, the observance of the prayer, the payment of zakat, the Pilgrimage, and the fast during Ramadan.” (Bukhari and Muslim.)

Leave a Comment